PWInsiderXTRA - WWE News, Wrestling News, WWE



By David Tees on 11/6/2015 3:17 PM

The UFC returns to Brazil for what will be the promotions final appearance for the promotion in the country this year. The event will be headlined by the rubber match between MMA legends Dan Henderson and Vitor Belfort. Also, Glover Teixeira faces Patrick Cummins in a key light heavyweight division bout and bantamweight star Thomas Almeida is in action.

Main Card

Main Event

UFC Middleweight Division Fight

Vitor “The Phenom” Belfort (24-11-0) vs. Dan “Hendo” Henderson (31-13-0)

Belfort will be fighting for the first time since losing a middleweight title bout to Chris Weidman at UFC 187. Henderson has only won just two of his last seven under the UFC banner, but he is coming off of a victory over Tim Boetsch at UFC Fight Night: Boetsch vs. Henderson. Belfort won the second match between the two competitors, which happened at UFC Fight Night: Belfort vs. Henderson II. Henderson was the winner of the initial meeting between the two, which happened back at PRIDE 32 in 2006. Henderson shocked the world when he upset Tim Boetsch earlier this year, but lightning will not strike twice as Belfort swarms on Henderson with strikes to get the early TKO finish.

Co-Main Event

UFC Light Heavyweight Division Fight

Patrick “Durkin” Cummins (8-2-0) vs. Glover Teixeira (23-4-0)

Cummins has won four of his last five under the UFC banner, most notably defeating Rafael Cavalcante at UFC 190. Teixeira has only won just one of his last three in the UFC, with that lone win coming over Ovince St. Preux at UFC Fight Night: Teixeira vs. St. Preux. Cummins will be competing for the third time in 2015, winning one of those two previous fights this year. Teixeira has only suffered four losses as a pro, with three of those four losses coming to past and/or current UFC veterans. Cummins best shot at winning is to ground Teixeira, but Teixeira will use his superior striking game to finish Cummins in the first round.

UFC Bantamweight Division Fight

Thomas “Thominhas” Almeida (19-0-0) vs. Anthony “El Toro” Birchak (12-2-0)

Almeida has already won three bouts under the UFC banner and he is a former Legacy Fighting Championships Bantamweight Champion. Birchak will be looking to build on the momentum of his first UFC win, which came over Joe Soto at UFC Fight Night: Boetsch vs. Henderson. Birchak will do his best to get the explosive Almeida to the ground, but Almeida will eventually use his striking to catch Birchak and finish him in the second.

UFC Lightweight Division Fight

Piotr “Pletwal” Hallman (15-4-0) vs. Alex “Cowboy” Oliveira (12-3-1-1NC)

Hallman has only won just one of his last four under the UFC banner, with that lone win coming over Yves Edwards at UFC Fight Night: Henderson vs. Khabilov. Oliveira will enter the fight on the strength of a two fight winning streak, most notably defeating KJ Noons at UFC Fight Night: Condit vs. Alves. Olveira has come out of nowhere to become a lightweight prospect in the UFC, he outstrikes Hallman to notch a decision win.

UFC Lightweight Division Fight

Gilbert “Durinho” Burns (10-0-0) vs. Rashid “Highlander” Magomedov (18-1-0)

Burns has already earned three victories under the UFC banner, last defeating Alex Oliveira at UFC Fight Night: Maia vs. LaFlare. Magomedov is currently undefeated thus far in his UFC tenure and he is a former M-1 Challenge Lightweight Champion. These are two of the better lightweight prospects in all of MMA right now, but it will be Burns getting a come from behind submission win over Magomedov.

UFC Light Heavyweight Division Fight

Corey “Beastin’ 25/8” Anderson (6-1-0) vs. Fabio “Caipira De Aco” Maldonado (22-8-0)

Anderson has won three of four fights during his UFC tenure and he was the winner of the UFC Ultimate Fighter 19. Maldonado has won just one of his last three in UFC competition, with that lone win coming over Hans Stringer at UFC 179. This fight should be a violent slugfest for as long as it lasts, Maldonado pulls out a hard fought decision in the end.

Preliminary Card

Gleison Tibau over Abel Trujillo

Johnny Case over Yan Cabral

Clay Guida over Thiago Tavares

Kevin Souza over Chas Skelly

Viscardi Andrade over Gasan Umalatov

Pedro Munhoz over Jimmie Rivera

Bruno Korea over Matheus Nicolau